My Stone Cold Heart

image

Oh how I wonder what will melt this stone cold heart of mine
I sat on this fence watching, praying and waiting
For that heat of love everyone speaks about
That lovely heart warming heat that sets your soul ablaze

Oh how I yearned for such heat to reach my stone cold heart.
So I waited
And come it did.

But it wasn’t warming
Instead it was scalding
It didn’t set my soul on fire
It burnt it to crisp
It didn’t melt my stone cold heart
It burnt me, remolded my heart into something worse than before

If I had known that that heat of love came with such price
I would not have wished, prayed and waited for it

Was it a lie then?
That the heat of love will make you shine?
That the dark cold stone could be melted into hot flowing gold?
The answers I do not know.
But the heat waves did send me off the fence I sat on

But happy I am now to sit on the same fence
Kicking my feet playfully
And still wondering what will melt this stone cold heart of mine.

Leave a Reply

